Board Members


  • The Honorable Pat McCrory, Governor of the State of North Carolina
  • The Honorable Sharon Allred Decker, North Carolina Secretary of Commerce


  • A Blanton Godfrey, Dean, College of Textiles, North Carolina State University

15 Members Appointed by the Governor

  • Norman R. Cohen (Vice-Chair), President and CEO, Unitec, Inc.
  • Leslie Boney, Vice President for International Community and Economic Engagement, UNC General Administration
  • Jud Bowman, President & CEO, Appia, Inc.
  • Ricky Castles, Assistant Professor, Department of Engineering, East Carolina University
  • Joseph Freddoso, CEO, MCNC
  • Buck Goldstein, University Entrepreneur in Residence and Professor the Practice, Department of Economics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Jeffrey C. Hart, Attorney, Robinson Bradshaw & Hinson
  • Bruce King, Associate Provost for Research, Wake Forest University
  • Terri Lomax, Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation & Economic Development, NC State University
  • Mike McBrierty, Senior Manager, Public Affairs, Biogen Idec
  • Scott Ralls, President, NC Community College System
  • James Siedow, Vice Provost for Research, Duke University
  • Ken Tindall, Senior VP, Science and Business Development, NC Biotechnology Center
  • Bradford Walters, VP and Chief Medical Officer, RTI International
  • Robert Wilhelm, Vice Chancellor, Research and Economic Development; Executive Director, Charlotte Research Institute, UNC Charlotte

One Member Appointed by the Speaker, North Carolina House of Representatives

  • Mark McNeilly, Adjunct Professor of Marketing, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

One Member Appointed by the President Pro Tempore, North Carolina Senate

  • Sam Houston, President & CEO, NC Science, Mathematics, and Technology (SMT) Education Center

end of section